Tags

, , , ,

I know, I know. Everyone’s been cooking with quinoa for years now. An ancient ‘grain’ (it isn’t technically a member of the grass family), it has been heralded as a superfood, containing amino acids, and a host of minerals. However, my recent interest in it is that it is gluten free. I’ve been experimenting with gluten-free cooking lately, and it seemed like a great alternative to couscous. It is, and is far nicer. It has a better texture, and lacks the lumps and stodginess that couscous easily gets. In fact, I was amazed at how nice this was. Incredibly simple, but incredibly delicious. I had three helpings for dinner, then ate the rest for breakfast. I’ll be making this again, soon.

Image

Feta and Sweetcorn Quinoa Salad (serves 3)

1.5 cups vege stock

0.5 cups quinoa

2 bay leaves

1 large garlic clove, smashed

2 ears of sweetcorn

150g feta cheese (or to taste)

 

Boil the quinoa with the vegetable stock, bay leaves and garlic until the quinoa is tender (about 20 mins). Meanwhile, steam the corn, then cut the kernels from the cob. Cut the feta into small cubes. Drain the quinoa, and toss together with the corn and feta. Serve. 

