I’d be the first to admit it. I have posted a lot of ice cream on here lately, and in fact have more to come. I did have other things to post – African peanut soup, mango and egg curry – but somehow it seems that when I sit down to post something, it’s the ice cream that really attracts me. I wonder why that is. 

I have been making an awful lot of ice creams and sorbets over the last few weeks. I blame the combination of hot weather, and an amazing recipe book I got from the library. Caroline and Robin Weir’s ‘Ice Creams, Sorbets & Gelati: the definitive guide’ is just that, filling over three hundred pages and having a wealth of delicious recipes. Golden syrup ice cream? Of course. Mint Julep Ice Cream? Sounds amazing. Caviar Ice Cream? Maybe not. But it’s all very exciting. I made this one to go with a moroccan main last night. I love the dusty, sweet dried apricot, just cut by the lemon and almond. Best of all, you can make it in any season.

Image

Dried Apricot Sorbet (makes about 1 litre)

250g dried apricots

1L water

1 1/4 cups white sugar

2 lemons, juiced

2 drops almond essence

 

Soak the apricots in 750mL of water for an hour, then bring them to the boil and simmer until tender.

 

Image

Liquidise/blend until smooth.

Image

Make a sugar syrup by boiling the sugar with the rest of the water, until it has dissolved. Leave both parts of cool. When cold, combine the two, and add the almond essence and lemon juice. Place in an ice cream maker and process according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Image

