Tags

, ,

I thought I’d try something new today, and do a cookbook review. With summer coming, my ice cream maker sitting ready and waiting in the freezer, and blue sky outside the window, what could be more appropriate than a book of ice cream recipes?

For anyone passionate about ice cream, Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at home will be a wonderful and mouth watering read. It contains over 100 recipes, each one elegantly illustrated, plus a beginning section full of helpful theory and techniques. The recipes themselves are definitely not universally quick or simple; however, they are fun and challenging to make, and deliver good results. Even better, they mostly consist of flavours that you could never buy in New Zealand, allowing you to create something new and unusual.

 

Loath as I am to single out a few recipesfrom such a treasure trove, there are a few that I’ve tried that have particularly stood out. The Gucci Muu Muu (chocolate, curry and coconut) and the Baked Apple Sorbet, which I made for a work christmas party were spectacular. The Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet and Pineapple Piment d’Espelette Sorbet were both marvelous. My one warning would be that these recipes (I found this especially with the milk chocolate ice creams) are far too sweet for a New Zealand palate. After the first try, I now cut down the sugar significantly, and it doesn’t seem to have harmed the quality of the ice cream.

My conclusion would be a definite recommendation for this book. It would be perfect for any ice cream lover, and would make an excellent christmas present. I’m off to make pear sorbet.

