At risk of sounding deeply unoriginal, I love Julia Child. And not just because we share a first name. I love her accuracy, enthusiasm and realness, including her excitement about how to use up leftovers, and her back up plans for how to fix mistakes. Although I don’t use it often, being a vegetarian, her ‘Mastering the Art’ cookbook is truly wonderful. I just finished reading her autobiography, ‘My Life in France’. If you’re anything of a foodie, I strongly recommend it – even if you know nothing about Julia, her warmth and character exude from the pages, and she feels like an old friend after just a few chapters.

This recipe is her no-fail hollandaise recipe, adapted by me from her original draft reproduced in ‘My Life in France’. It’s not the same one as appears in ‘Mastering the Art’, but I prefer it this way. Hollandaise sauce is so delicious, and it was a revelation that making your own is incredibly easy. Brunches, lunches, and dinners, here I come. There’s nothing nicer than fresh toasted bread, wilted spinach, a lightly poached egg, and hollandaise sauce. Bon Appetite!

Hollandaise Sauce (serves 2-3)

100g butter

2 teaspoons lemon juice

2 egg yolks

pinch of salt and pepper

 

Mix the egg yolks for a minute, until sticky, in a smal bowl. Add the lemon juice, salt, and pepper, and mix for about 1-2 minutes. Heat the butter in a small saucepan, until it totally melts. When it is melted, and you hear the first crackle, remove it from the heat. Holding the saucepan in your left hand, and a whisk in your right (vice versa if you favour the left hand), pour the butter into the lemon mixture in a very thin trickle, whisking while you do this. Taste, and add more lemon juice, salt or pepper if necessary. Serve within a few minutes.

 

