Tags

, , ,

I know I’ve discussed on here before that cabbage is a bone of contention between my boyfriend and I. I love it, he thinks it’s boring, and refuses to carry it back from the vegetable market. I won on sunday, and we got half a cabbage, beautiful, crinkled and pale green.

I adore the taste of raw cabbage – clean and peppery – but don’t like coleslaw much. So here is another way to serve raw cabbage. The pepper of the cabbage combines wonderfully with the tang of the dressing. This was a big hit with my flatmates, and I think the cabbage debate will be easier next time. The delicious dressing is from Janet at ‘The Taste Space’.

Cabbage Salad with a Peanut Dressing 

Half a cabbage

Handful of rice noodle/thin pasta

Handful of toasted/roasted peanuts

1/4 cup peanut butter

3 tablespoons white vinegar

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1/2 teaspoon crushed garlic

1/2 teaspoon minced ginger

~2 tablespoons water

chili flakes (optional)

Boil water and cook the pasta, then drain. Cut into short lengths. While it is cooking, slice the cabbage very finely. Toss the cabbage, short lengths of pasta, and peanuts in a salad bowl. Mix the peanut butter, vinegar, soy sauce, ginger, and garlic in a small bowl, then add water until your desired consistency has been reached. Add chili if you are brave. Pour the dressing over the salad, and toss until all the ingredients are lightly coated.

