Tags

, , , ,

When I hear people tell me that making a jelly roll is easy, I am instantly suspicious. In fact, through my entire life, I have refused to make anything of the “roll up the sponge cake” variety, because I have simply never believed it would work. I had pictures in my mind of the cake cracking into pieces, landing on the floor, me accidently squashing it, etc. etc. Disaster, in short.

So when I first saw Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe for Skinny Jelly Roll, I was doubtful. However, because the recipe was quick and simple, I thought I would try it. And, amazingly, it worked! It really did take a few minutes to make, and cooked in 10-15 minutes. And I even rolled it up with no cracks. I would prefer a more buttery sponge myself, but with such a simple recipe, the result:effort ratio is still fabulous. Serve whenever you need a quick sweet treat – dessert, brunch, afternoon tea, you name it. The recipe below is from Chocolate Covered Katie, with the substitutions I used, and the filling instructions from me.

Jelly Roll (makes 3 pieces)

1/2 cup white flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

100mL water

2 tablespoons white sugar

2 tablespoons oil

1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence

icing sugar

desiccated coconut

plum jam

Mix all ingredients and pour into a shallow baking tray. Turn on the oven to 180 celsius, and place it in there while it heats. Check it regularly, and remove when cooked (10-15 minutes). Remove from the tin and leave to cool. Mix icing sugar with a small quantity of water, until spreadable consistency. Spread the cake with plum jam, thickly, then sprinkle a thick layer of desiccated coconut, then smear on the icing. Roll up the cake (yes, it will work!), slice with a sharp knife, and serve.

