Tags

, ,

I had a small accident with this dessert. I’m not very good waiting for things in general, which is why I am generally a fan of quick desserts (wait? for chocolate? for something sweet? are you mad?). However, I decided to brach out and make a sago dessert that had a long cooking time. In one fell swoop it would use up half of the enormous pile of rhubarb in the fridge, and would also make inroads into the untouched bag of sago. Win.

Unfortunately, remembering things is hard. I clearly have a short term memory slightly better than a goldfish (I did remember the pudding was in the oven for five seconds), but not much better. I soon forgot all about it, and the hours slipped by. When I finally went to check on it, it looked like something out of Ghostbusters II. More specifically, it looked identical to the pink slime that runs in the river under Manhattan, channelling evil. It was even heaving and climbing over the edge of the oven dish, kind of like the slime does when it comes out of the bath tub and tries to eat Sigourney Weaver and her baby.

Who did I call? Only my boyfriend, actually. And once it had cooled down, it still tasted excellent. My one hint – set a timer.

Rhubarb and Ginger Sago (serves 3)

1/3 cup sago

5 large stalks of rhubarb, finely chopped

2/3 cup white sugar

2 cups warm water

two large knobs of fresh ginger (about 5cm square)

Finely chop the ginger. Mix all the ingredients in an oven proof dish. Cover with tinfoil, and bake at 180 degrees until the mixture is gelatinous and the sago is soft. Stir several times during cooking.

Pile into glasses to serve, then leave to cool for a few moments.

Adapted from Alison Holst’s 20 Minute Desserts

