Tags

, , ,

You know what? Cake making is remarkably fun, and simple. I only realised this a few months ago, which sounds very recent, I know, but cut me some slack. I got off to a very bad start.

Now I love my mother dearly, and she is a wonderful, intelligent and talented woman. In many ways, she is even a wonderful cook. But baking has never been her strong point. And particularly not cakes, which she dutifully produced with a depressing regularity through my childhood. They never made it over an inch high, and even sometimes came out smaller than they went in – a rather impressive piece of physics. What they lacked in height, however, they made up for in density, being the kind of foodstuff best approach with a knife, or even possibly pick axe. So it is not surprising that I nurtured a healthy fear of cake making.

For anyone else dealing with a little childhood trauma in the baked good department, I would highly recommend this cake recipe. Indeed, I would unhesitatingly recommend it to anyone. It is quick and simple, I have never known it to fail, and the cake produced is flavoursome, moist and light. Although still lovely on its own, I would strongly recommend the filling I have listed. You don’t really need to ice it, but if you wish to, then I would suggest a buttercream icing, especially chocolate.

Easy Banana Cake with a Banana Cream Filling

for the cake:

125g oil

175g white sugar

2 bananas, mashed

2 eggs

2 tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon baking soda

225g white flour

1.5 teaspoons baking powder

for the filling:

2 bananas, sliced

200ml cream

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and grease a cake tin well. Mix the oil and sugar in a bowl, then add the eggs and mashed banana. Heat the milk until boiling, and add the baking soda to this and mix it while it froths up (exciting!). Add the milk and soda to the main mixture. Stir well, then add flour and baking powder. Mix until smooth, and pour into the cake tin. Bake until golden brown on top and cooked through the middle (check with a skewer). It should take around 40 mins.

Remove from the tin, and leave to harden a little. Cut through the cake, parallel to the bottom, to form two layers. This is best done with a long bread knife. Carefully lift the top half off the bottom, and leave the halved to cook. Once the cake is fully cooled, whip the cream, and smear half of it onto the bottom half of the cake. Arrange the sliced bananas on top of this, and the top with the rest of the cream. Place the top half of the cake on top of this.

Source: adapted from the NZ Edmunds Cookbook

