Tags

, , , ,

I’ve always wanted to make a mushroom tart, and now I have. Exciting story, aye? The story may become more exciting, however, when I tell you that it was delicious, and creamy, and amazing. It might even become a sensational story when I say that the pastry was whole meal, easy, tender, didn’t require chilling, didn’t fall apart when I rolled it and had no butter in it.

This tart was a hit with my flat-mates, and has immediately made its way to my repeat soon list. I served it with a potato salad and a green salad as dinner, but this would make a great lunch. I can also attest to the fact that it is  very nice as leftovers.

Mushroom Tart with a Rosemary Crust (serves 4)

For the filling:

12 large mushrooms

1.5 tablespoons garlic

2/3 cup cream

1 large tablespoon butter

For the crust:

250g wholemeal flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon dried rosemary

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup very cold water

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius. Mix the crust ingredients, bar the water, in a bowl, then slowly add the water. Mix it with a fork into a dough. Roll the dough out quickly with a rolling pin until it is the size needed for your tart pan. Place it into the greased tin and remove any excess dough. Prick with a fork and put in the oven. Bake until golden brown.

Meanwhile, make the mushroom filling. Finely chop the mushrooms, and fry them with the butter and garlic until they have reduced in size. Add the cream. Allow it to heat and boil, stirring occasionally, until the sauce is very thick. Pour into the baked tart crust, and return to the oven for about five minutes. Leave to sit for a few minutes to harden. Serve warm.

Source: the pastry recipe is from chocolateandzucchini.com, and the mushroom sauce is a specialty of my friend Elsie.

