Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here is an interesting fact. Muesli from the supermarket probably isn’t as healthy as you think. Indeed, it probably isn’t healthy at all, as yesterday’s study by Consumer NZ shows. Consumer surveyed a number of muesli brands available in the supermarket, and found most of them full of sugar and oil. One brand even contained as much fat as corn chips, and four times the amount of sugar. Alison Holst Honey Toasted, a standard brand, contained 30.7 grams of sugar per 100g of product. That is actually quite staggering. Of course, there is a simple way to avoid this. Home made muesli.

Being a trend setting woman, I actually made my batch of muesli the day before these findings were released. Rather than being concerned about the health (and lack thereof) of store-bought muesli, I was tired of how boring the are. I like muesli with lots of interesting bits in, and it annoys me how regular muesli usually stints on these, or uses bad quality tasteless versions. Also, muesli that I made myself would contain no yoghurt covered raisins. That in itself was reason enough.

I am thoroughly pleased with the result, and plan to make muesli many more times. This mix I made was far nicer than any other muesli I have had, especially the large hunks of 72% cocoa chocolate. It took a minimal time and made a batch that will last me for several weeks. If you are a cereal eater, give it a go. This recipe is far from rigid – include your favourite nuts, seeds and dried fruit.

Home Made Muesli with Dark Chocolate and Sunflower Seeds

7 cups rolled oats

2 cups desiccated coconut

1/2 cup brown sugar (optional)

1 cup bran

100g sunflower seeds

1 cup peanuts

1 cup raisins

200g very dark chocolate (I used Whittakers 72%)

1 small handful of walnuts

Mix the oats, sugar, bran, coconut and sunflower seeds, and toast in a hot oven until lightly golden. Let this cool; in the meantime, cut the peanuts, walnuts and chocolate into small hunks. Mix all the ingredients together and stir in an airtight container. Serve with milk and yoghurt.

