Tags

, , , , , ,

I don’t have much to say about this, really. I think mushroom risotto, in all its deliciousness, is fairly self explanatory. It has the oily silkiness, the mushroom taste, the sparkle of white wine. It also happens to be vegan, and so fairly healthy. The vegan bit was actually unintentional (had run out of butter), and you could easily swap part of the olive oil for butter. I never add cheese to risottos myself, but if that’s your thing, stir some in at the end, or sprinkle on top. I have a pottle of this for lunch today, and I have to say that I’m looking forward to it.

Mushroom Risotto (serves 5)

1/2 large leek

2 tablespoons garlic

200g button mushrooms (about 15)

1/3 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons of fresh thyme and oregano

1/2 cup white wine

3 cups white rice

~ 7 cups water/vegetable stock*

Finely slice the white part of the leek and roughly cut the mushrooms. Put half the oil in a large pot, and fry the leeks and mushrooms until the leeks are translucent and soft. Add the garlic and herbs, and fry for another minute. Add the rest of the oil and the rice. Mix thoroughly, then add a cup of stock and the wine. Stir on medium to low heat. Add water/stock in small quantities and stir until cooked. Serve hot. I paired this with some  simple steamed broccoli.

* If you have a light/not strong tasting stock, use all or mostly stock. If your stock is quite strong, then use some stock and the rest water.

