Tags

, ,

I have a bit of a thing for chocolate and peanut butter. More specifically, I have a very large thing for Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Unfortunately, they can be hard to get in New Zealand, so luckily when dad went to South Carolina earlier this year, he brought me back a bag larger than my head, which I have been steadily working my way through. Up until now, I’ve just been eating them. A few days ago, I went to the next step and baked with them.

These cup cakes are doubly peanut butter cup flavour. Not only are they chocolate themselves, with peanut butter frosting, but buried within each of them is a Reese Peanut Butter Cup. To be honest, I don’t think I need to say any more – that speaks for itself. Any chocolate-peanut-butter fiend like me will understand.

Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes

for the cupcakes:

One cup of cocoa powder

One cup of hot water

One and a third cups of white flour

One quarter of a teaspoon of salt

110 grams of oil

One and a half teaspoons of baking powder

Two eggs

Two teaspoons of vanilla essence

Handful of peanut butter cups

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Place oil and sugar in a food processor and mix until smooth. Add all the other ingredients and blend to combine. Fill cupcake wrappers or muffin/tart tins with the mixture. Half fill each wrapper, and if using a tin remember to grease it well. Cut the peanut butter cups into halves or quarters (depending on the size of cupcake you are making), and bury a chunk of peanut butter cup in each cupcake. Bake until cooked, but still moist. Leave to cook, and then ice.

for the icing:

One and a half cups of icing sugar

Half a cup of smooth peanut butter

Four tablespoons of milk

Place the icing sugar and peanut butter in a blender. When it is reduced to small crumbs, slowly add the milk, stopping when it reaches a spreadable consistency, but before it gets too sticky. When the cupcakes are cool, spread the icing thickly on top.

Notes: I have used oil in the cupcakes, as not only is it easier to mix if you are doing it by hand, but it also produces a more moist cake. The icing is moderately sticky, as I don’t use butter in it (for health reasons). If you want a less sticky icing, watch the amount of milk that goes in, or look for a butter containing icing.

This recipe made 12 mini and 12 large cupcakes.

