Tags

, ,

Now here’s something I want to know. Why are there not more hot drinks? I know there are lots of hot drinks, of the chamomile tea (which I do genuinely believe is actually lawn clippings) variety. What I mean is hot drink drinks. It would solve all of the we’ve-met-up-for-a-drink-and-it’s-freezing-so-we-really-just-want-a-cup-of-tea dilemmas, that happening at an alarming frequency as the winter gets colder. When I saw this mix mentioned in a newspaper yesterday, I knew I had to try it. It really is beautiful, I think far nicer than the conventional gin and tonic. It is warm and yummy, and tastes good no matter how weak (if you’re a light drinker like me) you want to make it. Not only that, but the lemon is good for a winter sore throat.

I haven’t included quantities here, as they will vary so much depending on what you like. I used about a half inch worth of gin, half a lemon and two tablespoons of sugar for mine. I’d recommend adding the gin, lemon and sugar in modest portions, then tasting and adjusting. I can imagine these going down well at any informal dinner, supper etc.

Hot Gin and Lemon

Gin, preferably Bombay Sapphire

Fresh lemons

White sugar

Hot water

Pour gin, white sugar and freshly squeezed lemon juice into a mug. Add boiling water and stir until sugar dissolves and the flavours are mixed. Taste, and adjust.

