Tags

I hope this is the most unexciting thing I will ever post. However, a really good and reliable rice recipe is worth ten delicious cakes and pies. I (or someone in my flat) uses this recipe at least once a week, and I fully expect to continue to do so for the rest of my life. Each time it turns out perfectly cooked rice, in any quantity, and is fluffy and non-sticky.

Before my wonderful aunt taught me this rice method, I was a very poor rice maker (oddly, the only time my rice was not industrial-adhesive-strength sticky was when I was making sushi, when it would suddenly be like drying crystals). In fact, I would go to vast lengths to avoid cooking rice, the good side of which was that I got much better with couscous, barley, and other such replacers. In some ways, I think it’s kind of a family thing – my mother is incapable of cooking rice. Even with a rice cooker, she creates rice that is undercooked and then baked into a cake. “Honey, can you cut the rice?”. I imagine that many who read this will have already skipped over it, muttering “boring” and “easy”. However, I can guarantee that a few people won’t have, and will be reading very carefully.

White Rice via the absorption method

This isn’t a recipe so much as a method. Use two twice the volume of water as white rice (i.e. two cups water to one cup white rice). Place in a large pan and heat uncovered. Bring to the boil, and boil until the water level is only just above the level of the rice. The rice should look almost slimy, and be forming large holes. At this stage, turn off the heat and place a lid on firmly. Leave to sit for about 15 minutes, and do not, under any circumstance, give in to temptation and peak early on, as this will let the steam out and ruin the rice. When the time is up, lift the lid, fluff the rice with a fork, and serve.

