Tags

, , ,

I like cake. Not a very unusual or radical statement, I know. However, it is a slightly radical realisation for me, because even though I like cake, I make it and eat it very infrequently. The last time before this one that I made cake was at the end of February, when I helped my boyfriend make a banana cake to take to his leaving party at his work. I didn’t get any of it. The time before that, I made a cake (same kind) for him to take to his work on his birthday. Also got none of that. So, my cake making and consumption has been pretty meager over the last few months.

I have decided to change this. Cakes are so yummy, and actually far healthier than many other dessert/sweet snack options. If you make them in the food processor they take very little time. This recipe sounds a little strange, but is in fact delicious. In my opinion, it strikes the balance nicely between being an unusual flavour that most people haven’t tried, and being so weird that actually nobody wants to eat it. It isn’t a high cake, but it is soft and moist from the rhubarb, and the rosemary works beautifully, creating a delicate aromatic flavour that is perfectly complemented by the brown sugar. I’m rambling, I know, but this cake does that to you. Try it and see what I mean.

Rhubarb and Rosemary Cake

Topping

2 tsps chopped fresh rosemary

½ cup brown sugar

50g butter

Cake

1½ cups flour

2 tsps baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary

¾ cup sugar

125g butter, chopped

2 eggs

½ cup milk

1 cup finely diced rhubarb

Preheat the oven to 180C.  Lightly grease and line with baking paper a 21cm round cake pan. This needs to be done well, or the topping causes the cake to stick badly (hear the voice of experience!). To prepare the topping, mix all ingredients in a food processor or blender until well combined. Place all ingredients, except rhubarb, in the order listed into the food processor and blend until well mixed.  Fold in the rhubarb.  Spread into the cake pan and sprinkle the topping over the batter. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes.  Stand for 5 minutes then lift out.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

This is lovely served on its own, or with cream, runny or whipped, or with vanilla icecream. My aunt gave me this recipe – I have no idea where it is from. If anyone knows, do comment and tell me, so that I can credit it.

