Tags

, ,

So. I’m the first to admit that this was slightly a mistake. A fortuitous one, perhaps, but mistake none the less.

As I alluded to in my first post, last night I tackled Delia Smith’s ‘Rich Chocolate Mouse’. It looked very easy, involving making a chocolate mixture and then folding stiff egg whites through this. The first stage went swimmingly; I walked down to the local fruit shop to buy an out-of-season orange, and it turned out fairly well, though I had to adjust the flavourings. However, I then ran into egg white trouble – try as I might (and I   even got my boyfriend to man the wiz-stick blender for a a good five minutes), they refused to go stiff. So I abandoned Delia, and struck out alone. And it totally worked. So, here it is:

Orange Chocolate in Filo Pastry (serves two)

150g dark chocolate, good quality and high cocoa percentage

Two egg yolks

Grated zest of one orange, and the juice of half

One tablespoon of brown sugar

Three sheets of filo pastry

 

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Melt the chocolate in a bowl set above a pot of boiling water. As it starts to melt, add the two egg yolks and beat until smooth. Put in the orange zest and juice, and stir until chocolate is melted and mixture is fairly smooth. Add brown sugar, and continue to stir (taste, and adjust sugar quantities). Leave to cool until it is able to be spooned, and hold its shape.

Halve the pastry sheets. Smear a small loaf tin with butter, and place the three half sheets in the bottom of the tin, layering with melted butter. Spoon the chocolate mixture onto the pastry, then cover with the rest of the pastry, again layered and topped with melted butter. Tuck the pastry in.

Bake until golden, for about 15 minutes.

Serve hot with cream.

 

