Tags

, , , , , , ,

I haven’t posted for a really long time. It’s quite shocking, really. Even I’m shocked, and I’m the one who did it. I’ve had the awful combination of exams, then starting work, plus an absolutely horrible ear infection (it’s been a long time since I managed to sleep through the night), which is proving unpleasantly antibiotic resistent. 

I have been cooking, however, and have some nice recipes lined up to share. Yesterday I made the Oreo Pound Cake from Baking Bites, which was lots of fun. I made Pad Thai last night, and many many really good salads. If you’re lucky, you might even get to hear about my somewhat scary encounter with cooking an artichoke (think the lobster scene from Julie and Julia). I also make rice pudding the other day. Rice pudding is wonderful, I love it. It is the easiest thing ever to make, and when cooked properly, it comes out sticky and creamy, with a delicate caramel taste. There are very few puddings that offer such reward for so little effort. There’s no photo for this, as few thing in the world are less photogenic than a rice pudding.

 

Rice Pudding (serves 3)

600mL milk

50g short grain white rice

55g white sugar

1 tablespoon butter

sprinkle of nutmeg

 

Mix the dry ingredients together in an oven dish, then add the milk and stir. Drop in the butter, then sprinkle the top with nutmeg. Bake in a cool oven (about 150 degrees celsius) for 2-2.5 hours, or until brown on top and sticky and cooked inside. Serve hot. 

